Marching Music


Marching Music Background
March 12, 2007, 6:35 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Having marched with a lot of different groups, in a lot of different styles, I have taken a great interest in the sport.  I grew up going to my cousins’ marching band shows and the Drum Corps International Eastern Classic in Allentown, Pa year after year.

As a second grader, I picked up my first instrument, a pair of drum sticks.  I practiced like crazy.  My grade school finally let me take cello lessons in the fourth grade, but you can’t march with a cello.  I was at the high school every night, watching the marching band practice with my parents, who were on the band staff. 

In the 5th grade, I was finally allowed to choose a wind instrument.  My parents bought me a brand new trumpet and started taking me to Sheffield for rehearsals with the Grey Knights Drum and Bugle corps less than a year later.  I marched my first show with a DCA drum corps at the age of 12. 

High school was a dream come true for me, because I could finally put on the uniform that I had been idolizing for so many years.  I was a soloist, drum major, section leader, etc.  The next logical step was Drum Corps.  I marched with the Glassmen for two years (2004 and 2005) and then the Cadets in 2006 and 2007.  (I age out this year.)

I am unbelieveably excited to see what the future holds for me.  For now, I am a music education major at Grove City College, a Cadets’ age-out, and a marching tech at Youngsville High School in Youngsville, Pa. 

I love marching music.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] March 12 Marching Music by Alison Hulihan starts out with Marching Music Background […]

Pingback by A (Partial) Timeline of Music Education Blogging | So You Want To Teach?




Leave a Reply

